The special delivery

The month of April was always a fun time of the year for pop because of the simultaneous start of the baseball season and Stanley Cup Playoffs. The Yankees are doing pretty well and the Rangers appear to be primed for a long and successful run this postseason, so that’s something that surely is making him grin.

DadAnyway, a nice story was recently brought to my attention by my sister Lorin, and mom, and I just had to share in my blog because it just supports something that we already all knew. That my father, George Morreale, always left a lasting impression on everyone.

I’m sure stories such as this will come along every so often until the day I see him again, but it’s always nice to hear them nonetheless.

Over the weekend, my mom walked down the driveway to accept mail from the mail carrier driving by instead of having him place it in the mailbox.

The mailman looked at my mom and asked, “Morreale? Is this a valid name for this address?”

Mom, now puzzled, looked at him and said, “Yes.”

The mailman then asked, “George. Was that your husband’s name?”

The mailman, whose name is Al, went on to say how much he misses talking to my father and how great a man he was. He said he was the “nicest guy he had ever met on his mail routes in 22 years.” Al did the route past my parent’s house a few years ago and, at that time, had a long ponytail. He has short hair now. He just recently began running routes past the house once again.

Because he was talking so much about dad, mom wasn’t exactly sure if he knew of the news that dad had passed away. But he did. He said he misses him and was sorry to hear about him passing away. He told mom how upset he became when he heard of the news.

Pop would usually walk to get the mail every day since he was usually either outside doing something or looking out the window. When he did, he always took the time to talk to the mailman. Funny how those brief conversations could be so impactful.

When mom started to get a little emotional, Al apologized and said he was sorry for getting her upset. But mom just told him that it was nice that he took the time and told her about how he felt about dad. I couldn’t agree more — it was such a nice story and it made me very proud.

Being friendly sometimes has lasting benefits and, well, memories.

1 comment
  1. jusayn@bellsouth.net said:

    He was and his a fantastic brother! He might have been on the quit side but he always had a smile for everyone and very caring. Miss him so very much.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a comment